CFPA ANNOUNCES 2015 RECIPIENTS



January 13, 2016 – CHARLESTON, South Carolina – College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) today announced its 2015 annual awards. Alabama running back Derrick Henry earned the 2015 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Northern Arizona quarterback Case Cookus earned the 2015 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy.

The 2015 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy and 2015 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy are 22-inch K-9 optic crystal towers with eight-inch crystal footballs on top. All FBS and FCS players were eligible for the awards, and players were not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

2015 CFPA Awards:

National Performer of the Year – Derrick Henry, Alabama

FCS National Performer of the Year - Case Cookus, Northern Arizona

FCS National Defensive Performer of the Year – Noah Spence, Eastern Kentucky

FCS National Freshman Performer of the Year – Case Cookus, Northern Arizona

FCS All-Purpose Performer of the Year – Darius Hammond, Charleston Southern

Quarterback Award - Case Cookus, Northern Arizona

Running Back Award – Troymaine Pope, Jacksonville State

Wide Receiver Award – Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington

Tight End Award – Ben Braunecker, Harvard

Defensive End Award – Tyrone Holmes, Montana

Linebacker Award – Mike Needham, Southern Utah

Defensive Back Award – Deiondre' Hall, Northern Iowa

Defensive Tackle Award – Dino Fanti, Eastern Illinois

Placekicker Award – Lance Geesey, Saint Francis U

Punter Award – Ryan Hawkins, Northern Arizona

Kickoff Returner Award – Willie Quinn, Southern University

Punt Returner Award – Ellis Onic, Northern Colorado

Elite Defensive Back Award – Dee Delaney, The Citadel Elite Linebacker Award – Christian Kuntz, Duquesne Elite All-Purpose Award – Kade Harrington, Lamar Elite Defensive Back Award – DeAndre Houston-Carson, William & Mary

About College Football Performance Awards:

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. Furthermore, CFPA has received praise from both Republican and Democratic White House officials for promoting objectivity and fairness in college football.

CFPA is now in its eighth season of player and team performance recognition. Thirty-three CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.